American Street

American Street

$ 21.09

  Book Category:

  By: Ibi Zoboi

  Published by: HarperCollins

  Version: Reproduction & Original

In stock (10)

Book details

  1.      Pages: 336
  2.      Language: English
  3.      Edition: N/A
  4.      Publication date: 23 March 2017
  5.      Age range: N/A
  6.      ISBN: 9780062473042

Book Description

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews!
A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year
American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.
In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.
On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie—a good life.
But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola’s mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit’s west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.
Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

Send us a book request

Request a Book
Haval Bookstore

Welcome to Haval Bookstore, Iraq’s leading specialist bookstore. We're proud to offer over 50 thousand titles, all at unbeatable prices. Whatever your interest or passion, you'll find something interesting in our bookshop full of delights.

Find UsOn Facebook